2006 ICC Champions Trophy: Watson inspires first Aussie win

The 2006 ICC Champions Trophy was held in India with the final on 5 November 2006.

A new format was used. Eight teams were competing in the group phase: the top six teams in the ICC ODI Championship on 1 April 2006, plus two teams chosen from the other four Test-playing teams Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, chosen from a pre-tournament round robin qualifying round. West Indies and Sri Lanka qualified ahead of Bangladesh and Zimbabwe.

The eight teams were then split into two groups of four in a round robin competition. While Australia and West Indies qualified from Group A, South Africa and New Zealand qualified from Group B for the semifinals.

Australia and West Indies reached the final defeating New Zealand and South Africa, respectively.

In the final, Australia beat West Indies by 8 wickets to win the trophy for the first time. The venues for the tournament were Mohali, Ahmedabad, Jaipur and Mumbai.

Related Videos

1998 ICC Champions Trophy: Kallis stars as South Africa win first gong

2009 ICC Champions Trophy: Australia win after Watson stars again

No comments received so far. (U09)
Share with
What are these?

Random Video (I'm Feeling Lucky)

from around the world
CricketCrowd articles