Show Event summary

2010 ICC T20 World Cup

England upset the odds with their first victory at an ICC limited overs tournament with a crushing seven wicket win against the old enemy Australia in the final played in Bridgetown, Barbados. In the semi finals, England downed Sri Lanka by 7 wickets and Australia beat Pakistan by 3 wickets.

Mahela Jayawardena (302 runs at 60.40) and Kevin Pieterson (248 runs at 62.00) were the batting stars of the tournament whilst Dirk Nannes (14 wickets at 13.07) and Charles Langeveldt (11 wickets at 9.45) shone with the ball. 

Click here to access video highlights for the many memorable moments of the 2010 T20 World Cup.

Hot Links

2010 ICC T20 World Cup

The 2010 ICC World Twenty20 was the third ICC World Twenty20 competition and was held in the West Indies between 30 April and 16 May 2010. This ICC tournament was originally supposed to be the 2008 ICC Champions Trophy that was scheduled for Pakistan but was postponed (due to security concerns) and the format was changed from ODI to T20 to fit into the busy international calendar.

4 Groups of 3 countries contested the first round with the 10 major cricketing nations joined by Afghanistan and Ireland. Matches were played at only three grounds to reduce flying time – Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados; Providence Stadium in Providence, Guyana; and Beausejour Stadium in Gros Islet, Saint Lucia.

Share with
What are these?
from around the world
CricketCrowd articles

Random Video (I'm Feeling Lucky)