2008 ICC Awards: Ajantha Mendis, Shiv, Steyn & Lankans take honours

Sri Lanka’s new star Ajantha Mendis won the Emerging Player of the Year award at the LG ICC Awards ceremony in Dubai.

Mendis pipped England’s up and coming fast bowler Stuart Broad, South Africa fast bowler Morne Morkel and paceman Ishant Sharma of India for the award.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul took the coveted Player of the Year award Dale Styen bagged the Test cricketer of the year as the Sri Lankan team won the spirit of cricket.

The selection panel was chaired by West Indies legend Clive Lloyd and included former Australia captain Greg Chappell recently retired South Africa allrounder Shaun Pollock former Sri Lanka opener Sidath Wettimuny and former Bangladesh batsman Athar Ali Khan.

Dubai Sept 2008.

Related Videos

2009 ICC Awards Preview: Dhoni & Dilshan in line for top honours

Bailey rescues Aussies, pace seals win: 1st ODI (Perth)

ClipDex Details

Matches Tagged in ClipDex

Series Tagged in ClipDex

Players Tagged in ClipDex

Steyn, Dale W   Jayawardene, D P Mahela   Mendis, B Ajantha W   Chanderpaul, Shivnarine  

Grounds Tagged in ClipDex

Categories Tagged in ClipDex

Other (incl. IPL)  

No comments received so far. (U09)
Share with
What are these?

Random Video (I'm Feeling Lucky)

from around the world
CricketCrowd articles