ICC T20 Champs: Lankans bury finals jinx to beat India (Mirpur)

Sri Lanka won their first ICC T20 World Cup after they defeated India by six wickets to win the title in Bangladesh.

Kumar Sangakkara hit an important 52 not out to help Sri Lanka chase down the 131-run victory target with 13 balls to spare and deny India, the reigning 50-over World Cup and Champions Trophy winners, a record limited over treble.It also broke Sri Lanka's jinx of losing the final of major world level events as they had lost twice in the 50-over World Cup finals in 2007 and 2011, and the World Twenty20 finals in 2009 and 2012.

Apr 2014

Related Videos

Samuels inspires fightback, Windies win cup: ICC T20 WC Final WIN v SRL (RPS)

2014 T20 World Cup: Yuvraj made scapegoat as Lankans celebrate

No comments received so far. (U09)
Share with
What are these?
Potts, Matthew

Potts, Matthew
(International Debut: 2022)


* A random selection from our most recent newcomers
around the world
CricketCrowd Articles