Mass axings: Australia name 6 new faces for Adelaide Test

Australian selectors have made drastic changes with 6 new names in the 12-man squad for the 3rd Test to take on South Africa, after they lost 5 Tests in a row.

The new players are: Jackson Bird, Peter Handscomb, Nic Maddinson, Matt Renshaw, Chadd Sayers and Matthew Wade which includes 4 debutants, the most Australia has named since the Packer defections in 1978.

Joe Burns, Callum Ferguson, Mitchell Marsh, Joe Mennie, Peter Nevill and Adam Voges are the players axed thanks to a brutal shake-up of Australia's Test team announced by new Chief Selector, Trevor Hohns.

Nov 2016

Related Videos

Aussie Crisis: The empire crumbles?

Australia in crisis: Rod Marsh quits after series defeat

No comments received so far. (U09)
Share with
What are these?
* A random selection from our most recent newcomers
Bhat, Adwai Raghuram

Bhat, Adwai Raghuram
(66 yrs)


Holford, David A J
(84 yrs)

West Indies

Salim Malik
(61 yrs)


*These videos are a random selection from today's birthdays

CricketCrowd users

Administrators will be performing some maintenance functions starting next Tuesday 8am Sydney EST. This may cause some temporary disruptions to the service.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused and assure you normal services will be fully operational in the shortest time possible.

8:00am 16 April 2024 (GMT +11) equates to:

New York, USA 07:00pm 15 April 2021
GMT 11:00pm 15 April 2021
New Dehli, IND 04:00am 16 April 2021
Sydney, AUS 08:00am 16 April 2021


around the world
CricketCrowd Articles