Agar, Short fire Aussies to crown: 2018 Trans Tasman Final (Auckland)

Spinner Ashton Agar took 3 wickets as Australia claimed the world number one Twenty20 ranking for the first time following a rain-affected tri-series final victory over New Zealand.

After a bright start of 48-0, NZ lost their way to end up at 150-9 with only Ross Taylor (43 not out) adding any substantial pressure on the Aussie attack. 

Opener D’Arcy Short (50) top scored with his second consecutive half-century before spinner Mitchell Santner sparked a minor collapse. Glenn Maxwell (20 not out) and Aaron Finch (18 not out) steadied the ship, guiding Australia to the title win after rain interrupted play.

Australia 121 for 3 (Short 50) beat New Zealand 150 for 9 (Taylor 43*, Agar 3-27) by 19 runs (DLS method).

Feb 2018.

Related Videos

Boult five trumps Starc as NZ win thriller: 2015 WC #20 (Auckland)

Starc, Faulkner stop Kiwis, Aussies win cup: 2015 WC Final (MCG)

No comments received so far. (U09)
Share with
What are these?
Potts, Matthew

Potts, Matthew
(International Debut: 2022)


* A random selection from our most recent newcomers

Hayes, Frank C
(77 yrs)


Ali Asad

Ali Asad
(47 yrs)


Nasir Jamshed
(34 yrs)


*These videos are a random selection from today's birthdays
around the world
CricketCrowd Articles