Show Event summary

1975 ICC Cricket World Cup

ICC Cricket World Cup which has gone onto become one of the premier tournaments in world sport made its debut on 7 June 1975 as England thrashed India by 202 runs at Lords. The cup was hosted by England and was officially known as the Prudential World Cup as it was sponsored by the Prudential Assurance Company.

In a magnificent final that saw fortunes fluctuate both ways, Clive Lloyd's powerful century was the deciding factor in the West Indies taking out the first ever trophy. The West Indies eventually won by just 17 runs after making 291-8 to which Australia fought on to make 274 all out at Lords.

Hot Links

1975 ICC Cricket World Cup

The format of the first ICC World Cup in 1975 comprised of preliminary matches, which were played in 2 groups, with 4 teams each. The top two teams from each group proceeded to the knock-out round of semi-final. The winning teams then played against each other in the final match. Each of the matches comprised of 60 (6 ball) overs per team. The players wore traditional white clothing and played with red balls. In the tournament, all matches were played during the daytime.

1975 Prudential World Cup Highlights

Participant teams - 8 (6 full test playing nations, plus associates in Sri Lanka and East Africa)
Matches played - 15
Attendance - 158,000 (10,533 per match)
Most runs - Glenn Turner of New Zealand (333 runs)
Most wickets - Gary Gilmour of Australia (11 wickets)

One of the most bizarre batting efforts in one-day history was made by Indian legend Sunil Gavaskar in the first ever world cup game. England scored 334 (4 wickets, 60 overs) with Dennis Amiss (137 from 147 balls, 18 fours) scoring the first ever World Cup century, supported by Keith Fletcher (68 from 107 balls, 4 fours, 1 six). The response of Gavaskar (36 from 174 balls, 1 four) was to bat through the 60 overs for 36 not out.

In another exciting match on 11 June 1975, Pakistan (266/7) went down by 1 wicket to the West Indies (267-9) at Edgbaston after Murray and Roberts added 64 runs for the last wicket.

In the first semi final, the best World Cup performance to date was notched by Gary Gilmour (6/14). England were bowled all out for 93 (36.2 overs), after falling to 37/7. Australia initially suffered a collapse just as dramatic, falling to 39/6, before Gary Gilmour (28 from 28 balls, 5 fours) brought them home in a fantastic all-round performance.

In the second semi final, The West Indies won the toss and sent New Zealand in to bat first. New Zealand batted well against the bowling at first, reaching 98/1. However, when captain Glenn Turner (36 from 74 balls, 3 fours) and Geoff Howarth (51 from 93 balls, 3 fours) fell, breaking a second-wicket partnership of 90 runs, New Zealand lost 9/60 to fall to 158 (all out, 52.2 overs). The West Indies responded, with Alvin Kallicharan (72 from 92 balls, 7 fours, 1 six) and Gordon Greenidge (55 from 95 balls, 9 fours, 1 six) sharing a second-wicket partnership of 125 runs

The Prudential Cup was lifted by Clive Lloyd, captain of West Indies, who had started the tournament as the favourites. The West Indies beat Australia by 17 runs, after an accomplished innings from captain Clive Lloyd (102 from 85 balls, 12 fours, 2 sixes) that won him the man of the match award. Dennis Lillee and Jeff Thomson put on 41 in six overs for the final wicket but the game was up, with the pair needing 18 off nine balls, when Thomson became the fifth man to be run out. No man of the series award was made.

The aggregate attendance was 160,000 for the 1975 World Cup.

Share with
What are these?