Show Event summary

2011 ICC Cricket World Cup

India won its second ever World Cup when it downed Sri Lanka in a memorable final in front of its home fans. The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup was the tenth edition of the 50 overs World Cup format that started in 1975. It is hosted by three South Asian countries: India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The World Cup has fourteen national cricket teams competing. The return of the quarter-final stage knockout round, the first since 1996, promised enhanced excitement in the second half of the tournament.

Click here for Current Videos containing the latest action from the 2011 World Cup.

Hot Links

2011 ICC Cricket World Cup

The 2011 World Cup is one of the most open in years as the pre-tournament favourites India, South Africa and Sri Lanka will fight it out with dark horses Australia and Pakistan to earn the right to raise the cup at the final on 2nd April 2011 in Mumbai.

The slick opening ceremony got the world cup off with a bang on 17 February 2011 at Bangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka. The first match was on 19 February 2011 with co-hosts India and Bangladesh facing off in Dhaka, with the final on 2 April 2011 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

The favourites for the tournament are India, Sri Lanka and South Africa with Australia and Pakistan expected to provide stiff competition. This tournament will also be the last world cup for some of the legends of the game: Sachin Tendular, Muttiah Muralitharan, Jacques Kallis and Ricky Ponting.

Bangladesh, New Zealand and the West Indies are also capable of pulling off an upset as the tournament proper comes alive once these teams make the quarter-finals.

Share with
What are these?
from around the world
CricketCrowd articles

Random Video (I'm Feeling Lucky)