Show Event summary

2006/07 Ashes

The 2006/07 Ashes was dubbed the "revenge" series as Australia was still smarting from the unexpected loss of the urn in the prior series in 2005. The 5 Test series was played from 23 November 2006 to 5 January 2007 at the traditonal test cricket grounds at Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Melbourne and Sydney.

Australia regained the Ashes, completing a rare 5–0 "whitewash", the first time this had happened in an Ashes series since 1920–21.

The last test in the series in Sydney was also notable for the retirement of several significant Australian players (Justin Langer, Glenn McGrath, and Shane Warne). England led by Andrew Flintoff was outplayed on all fronts. In contrast, Australian skipper Ricky Ponting was named Player of the Series.

Hot Links

2006/07 Ashes

The Ashes: A brief history (28 June 2013)

The first Test match was played between England and Australia in 1877 at the MCG. The Ashes legend started 5 years later, after the ninth Test, played in 1882 at the Oval in London.

The third Australian team to tour England in 1882 achieved the unthinkable. Until then, the English had never been beaten on home soil, but Australia led by WL "Billy" Murdoch shocked England, with the legendary WG Grace in their ranks, lost by seven runs with Aussie fast bowler Fred Spofforth taking 14 wickets for 90 runs.

The following day, a mock obituary ran in the Sporting Times "in affectionate remembrance of English cricket, which died at the Oval on 29th August, 1882".

During the next tour to Australia in late 1882, a small terracotta urn was presented to the England captain Hon Ivo Bligh by a group of Melbourne women, led by Lady Clarke, after a friendly game that was played at Sir William Clarke's Rupertswood manor in Sunbury, Victoria. The contents of the urn are reputed to be the ashes of an item of cricket equipment such as a bail, or scarf, depending on which legend is true.

Share with
What are these?
around the world
CricketCrowd Articles