Show Event summary

2003 ICC Cricket World Cup

The 2003 tournament was won by Ricky Ponting's Australia who defeated Sourav Ganguly's India in the final. Ponting (140 from 121 balls, 4 fours, 8 sixes) and Damien Martyn (88 from 84 balls, 7 fours, 1 six) (playing with a broken thumb) completed a match winning partnership of 234 runs in 30.1 overs as they took the game from India by posting 359/2 to which India replied with 234 all out.

Hot Links

2003 ICC Cricket World Cup

The 2003 ICC Cricket World Cup was the eighth Cricket World Cup and was played in South Africa/Zimbabwe/Kenya from 9 February to 24 March. 2003 was the first time that the Cricket World Cup had been held in Africa. The tournament featured 14 teams and 54 matches, the most in the tournament history up to that time.

The tournament followed the format introduced in the 1999 Cricket World Cup with the teams divided into 2 groups, and the top three in each group qualifying for the Super Sixes stage. The tournament saw upsets in the first round with South Africa, Pakistan, West Indies and England failing to make it to Super Sixes stage while Zimbabwe and Kenya made it to Super Sixes stage and Kenya, a non-Test playing nation, made the semi-finals of the tournament.

Share with
What are these?